News Around Nigeria Today

2022 World Cup: FIFA changes rule for two play-off games


FIFA has revised the intercontinental playoff system for the 2022 World Cup to single-leg games at a neutral location.

The winners of the matches will compete for the final two berths in next year’s tournament in Qatar.

FIFA highlighted “exceptional interruption caused by the COVID-19 epidemic” for scheduling the games for June, according to a statement issued on Friday.

READ ALSO:  Cristiano Ronaldo’s bodyguards ‘are being investigated in Portugal for illegally working for him’

The international football governing body, however, has not yet announced a venue for the two games, which will take place on June 13 and 14.

The playoffs will involve teams from AFC (Asia), CONMEBOL (South America), OFC (Oceania) and CONCACAF (North American and Caribbean region).

FIFA will make the World Cup tournament draw on April 1 in Doha. Only 30 of the 32 qualifiers will be known at the time, with the intercontinental playoffs still to come.

READ ALSO:  Ronaldo set to disappoint Solskjaer after new decision

The draw for the intercontinental playoffs will be on November 26. The World Cup is scheduled to start on November 21, with the final on December 18.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More